Welcome to the official website of the Ministry of Fisheries and Blue Economy

“EU – SEZ” Joint Committee Meeting (JCM)

The fourth Joint Committee Meeting (JCM) under the Implementing Protocol 2020-2026 of the Sustainable Fisheries Partnership Agreement (SFPA) on access for EU fishing vessels to the waters of Seychelles between the European Union and the Republic of Seychelles took place between 6 to 8th  September 2023 in Victoria, Seychelles. The first JCM under the Implementing Protocol 2023-2028 of the Sustainable Fisheries Partnership Agreement (SFPA) on access for Seychelles fishing vessels to the waters of Mayotte was also head in Victoria, Seychelles on 8 September 2023.

The Seychelles’ delegation was led by Mr Roy Clarisse, Principal Secretary for Fisheries of the Ministry of Fisheries and the Blue Economy, whereas the delegation of the European Union was led by Mr Emmanuel Berck, Deputy Head of Unit for Trade Negotiations and Sustainable Fisheries Partnership Agreements of the Directorate-General for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries of the European Commission.

During the meetings, the Parties reviewed the state of implementation of the Protocol in relation to both EU fishing activities in Seychelles waters, and of Seychelles fishing activities in the waters of Mayotte. Besides, the Parties also reviewed projects under the sectoral support programme of the Seychelles SFPA, as well as cooperation in the framework of the Indian Ocean Tuna Commission (IOTC), and other fisheries related matters.

In the margin of the JCM, Mr Abel Sorry, the Principal Research Officer from the Department of Blue Economy and Ms Marisa Antha, a Fisheries Scientist from the Seychelles Fishing Authority were awarded their scholarship to pursue their studies at Master’s level in Sustainable Fisheries Management at the University of Alicante, Spain.

The scholarship has been made possible through the financial contribution of two Spanish operators, ANABAC and OPAGAC, in accordance with the commitments made during the negotiation of the current EU-Seychelles SFPA.